Funny Faces

July 12, 2011 at 2:56 pm 5 comments

Things have been pretty hectic in my world these days.  Work have been a maelstrom.  So much so I, embarrassingly, was brought to tears on the phone with a jerk client last week.  I had just reached my breaking point.  I’ve been juggling so much between an office in the midst of an audit, insurance compliance issues, new projects, and overly-demanding clients.  A home that has a never-ending to-do list and a major flooring project underway.  And not to mention, oh, I don’t know… being a (first-time!) Mommy to a 4 month old.  It’s hard to be everything to everyone, especially when my heart is wanting nothing more than to cuddle with my baby all day long.   I know I can strike the balance, it’s just going to take longer than 4 months.

Greyson demonstrating how I felt about last week.

The weekend and the relative rest it brought was much-needed.  Ramses started demoing the formal living room floor and laid the first planks of our new flooring.  I cannot tell you how long I have been wanting wood floors in the house.   During the design of our house we wanted to add the flooring badly but our budget was limited so we opted for upgrading the cabinets, fireplace, and stairs.  This August will be 6 years of homeownership and the floors are truly our first really big project.  While Ramses got his manual labor on, Greyson and I spent the day bonding and laughing together.  His little face is enough to erase every crappy thing that’s on my mind.

The many faces of adorable.

Sunday morning we took a break from the flooring to play some games with Matt & Robert.  It was really nice to spend time with friends and I am looking forward to making these get-togethers a weekly thing, our Church of the Breakfast Table, if you will.  Having a social life and devoting time to just have fun is really important when the majority of our time is spent working.  It is amazing how different my time is divided now and if I do not make time for certain things, they may never actually happen.  Having a child is a joy and the sacrifice of personal time is worth it but I am a firm believer that I can have it all.  It just takes some fancy, acrobatic scheduling and a little bargaining. Last night,  I actually cracked a book that wasn’t a parenting or baby book for the first time in, gosh… 6 months?!  By the way, book one of Fablehaven is excellent so far.  I loves me some kid’s fantasy books. =)

Ramses pulling some double duty.

I just had to share the picture above.  I asked Ramses if he could take a break so I could go switch out a load of laundry and I came downstairs to find this.  I guess he was on a roll and a break wasn’t in the cards.  Greyson LOVES to watch his Daddy.  No one can make him laugh more than Ramses.  They are simpatico.  I think that Grey will have Ramses’ sense of humor which makes me so happy.  I am looking forward to watching their relationship as he grows up.  I makes me so happy that Ramses has taken so easily to being a father.  Greyson is truly lucky to have him.  And I am pretty sure that he already knows that…

The precious sight I woke up to this morning.

Entry filed under: Day-to-Day, Home Improvements. Tags: , , , , , , , .

*rake, rake* Conversations with a 4 Month Old

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shelly  |  July 12, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    Oh, Karen, your blog blessed me so much today. I love your precious family. Love ya, – Shelly

    Reply
    • 2. Karen  |  July 12, 2011 at 3:44 pm

      Aww, thanks, Shelly! We love you guys too!

      Reply
  • 3. Stephanie Henson  |  July 13, 2011 at 5:50 am

    Karen,

    This is awesome!!! I love your sharing of your life and your photos of your beautiful family. It is too cute seeing Greyson watching his Daddy work on your new floor but that picture of the little man laying on his Daddy’s chest is priceless!!! It is memories like these that will last forever!!!!

    Love ya!
    Steph

    Reply
    • 4. Karen  |  July 13, 2011 at 10:35 am

      Thank you, Steph! You are absolutely right about those memories lasting forever. I saw them and just grabbed my cell phone to snap the photo. It was really dim and I had to lighten it in Photoshop. The old OCD me would have been disappointed that the picture didn’t turn out right but the new me is so happy to have captured such a fleeting moment. =)

      Love ya too!!

      Reply
  • 5. ele22  |  July 13, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    awww, so nice!!!!!! Thanks for sharing Karen! so sweet to see Ramses with his boy!!!! so precious! Big hugs to you all!!!!!!
    Elena

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


karenperson
photo
I am passionate about many things. I am drawn to all things cute, cupcakes, chandeliers, and shiny things in general. I can be a super girlie-girl, a huge geek, or a little of both depending on my mood. I have a great appreciation for people with creative minds. And what I love most in this world are my husband, my son, my dogs, and writing. If you want to know more just click on the "About Me" tab at the top of the page. kthxbye!

Calendar

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos


