Conversations with a 4 Month Old

July 18, 2011 at 2:33 pm 3 comments

I have never been a “baby person.”  I had some experience with babies before my little one came along since I have been an Auntie since I was 8 years old but I never went goo goo gaga over babies.  Once Greyson arrived I totally got it.  I understand why people become “baby people.”  It took my own child to awaken that fondness in my heart.  Now, I love babies!  I love seeing baby pictures and being around babies.  Now, I am talking about babies not little, ill-mannered kids.  Well-behaved kids?   Sure.  But the kids that their parents let run wild I can do without. =P

There is something about babies that is truly magically.  They see the world with completely fresh eyes and everything is new and wonderful to them.  Greyson is starting to understand the rhythm of conversation and allows us to speak to him, waits for a pause, and fills that pause with his own babbles and raspberries.  If you have never had a conversation with I 4 month old, I highly suggest you do.  You will never feel more interesting.  Another thing he does and has done since birth is “give eyebrows.”  I remember when I gave him his first bottle in the hospital his little eyebrows raised in surprise.  Now when he’s babbling sweetly to me he’ll raise one eyebrow for emphasis.  He is such a little flirt, girls are going to be powerless against him!

I plan on taking these photos every month to chart his growth.

This age is so much fun.  He is starting to really take interest in the world around  him.  His personality is starting to shine.  He is reaching for everything and whatever he gets his hands on goes right in his month.  He doesn’t quite understand that not everything gives him milk.  This can cause him quite a bit of frustration at times.

Ah nom, nom, nom.

I think another reason he puts everything in his mouth is because he’s starting to teethe.  He started drooling at 3 months and hasn’t stopped yet!  He’s had a few rough nights but no teeth poking through yet.  It is still early but my mom has told me that all her kids were all early teethers.  Also, solids will be coming up soon!  I’ve been reading my baby cookbooks and am all stocked up and ready to start making my own baby food and freezing it.  Yay!  I am getting excited to start this next step.  I’ve read that solids can start between 4 and 6 months old.  I am going to discuss the possibility of starting now with his doctor this Wednesday.

He loves his jumperoo!

My next purchase is going to be a book on baby sleep.  He’s been a fantastic sleeper until recently.  He turned 4 months old and decided sleep is just not for him.  He fights me so much at bedtime and is waking up a lot during the night.  I read a little on something called “4 month sleep regression.”  Any moms out there have experience with this?  Time to really hit the books again because Momma needs her shut-eye!

Entry filed under: Day-to-Day. Tags: , , , , , .

Funny Faces One Tiny Person

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ele22  |  July 18, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    Karen, Greyson is adorable!!!!!!! I can totally picture you talking to him……. Thanks for sharing again, it makes me feel a little closer to you guys!
    Lots of love to you all!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Karen  |  July 19, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Aww thanks Elena! I love hearing from you! I miss you!

    Reply
  • 3. silvia Gonzalez  |  July 20, 2011 at 8:00 am

    karen the same thing happen to me when Ramses was four months old,so I wish you good luck.Love you guys.Silvia,by the way now Im ready to show you Ramses baby book,let me know when is a good day.Thanks and have a wonderful day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


karenperson
photo
I am passionate about many things. I am drawn to all things cute, cupcakes, chandeliers, and shiny things in general. I can be a super girlie-girl, a huge geek, or a little of both depending on my mood. I have a great appreciation for people with creative minds. And what I love most in this world are my husband, my son, my dogs, and writing. If you want to know more just click on the "About Me" tab at the top of the page. kthxbye!

Calendar

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos


