Shabby Chic Tea Party

April 15, 2013 at 2:06 pm 1 comment

ShabbyChicTeaParty_leaveandbranches.wordpress.com

Shabby Chic needs flowers and in this case roses and hydrangea.

My lovely niece, Taylor-Anne, just celebrated her Sweet 16 on April 6, 2013.  She and her mom, my sister, Tyanne, came to me and asked me to help.  I jumped at the chance.  My niece had a very clear vision and I wanted to help make it a reality.

The desserts were artfully arranged by my niece and her helpful friends.

The desserts were artfully arranged by my niece and her helpful friends.

The girls had a a beautiful table under a pop-up canopy.  The flowers were my favorite part of this event.  I had never done such extension floral arrangements and I was proud of how they turned out.  The flowers were delivered right to my door from Global Roses and  just asking to be arranged beautifully in the extra teacups and teapots.

Beautiful little sweets made the spread feel opulent.

Beautiful little sweets made the spread feel opulent.

I ordered many of the goodies from Etsy.  What I love most about Etsy sellers is the amount of care and talent they put into their creations.  The spread just wouldn’t have been the same without these wonderful finds from Stolen Spoon Sweet Shop, Butter Blossoms, Sweet on Hearts, Nicole Lee Fine Chocolates, and Happy Loris Baking.

The birthday girl's place setting.

The birthday girl’s place setting.

A small box of pastel candies acted as place settings.  The placemat and charger are simply scrapbook paper and 10″ paper doilies.  A salad plate are perfect for the finger foods.  Each guest got to take home their tea cup with each contained a bags of Madelienes and a rose.  The table runner was made of pages from books and glued down on craft paper.

The photo backdrop or step and repeat gave the girls a chance to be stars in front of the camera.

The photo backdrop or step and repeat gave the girls a chance to be stars in front of the camera.

The photo backdrop was created using four ruffled curtain panels and paper rosettes with medallions made to fit the theme.

What's a birthday party without the cake?!

What’s a birthday party without the cake?!

The beautiful cake was provided by a local bakery, Little Fatties.  The two tier yellow cake with ruffled strawberry frosting and coordinating cupcakes were adorned with hand-made cupcake toppers and a mini bunting.  Each piece was made by me using paper flowers, vintage buttons, and scrapbook papers.

A close-up of the cupcakes.

A close-up of the cupcakes.

When I plan a events the details are so important to me.  It’s often the little things that get overlooked during planning and end up making the biggest impact on your guests.

Paper straws and straw tags.

Paper straws and straw tags.

Speaking of details, some of the first things I made for this party were the straw tags. What better way to sip pink lemonade than through a decorated straw?

Me and my baby love.

Me and my baby love.

My sweet little man had a fun time helping us set up but he was more interested in all the pretty young ladies… I am in for a world of trouble when he gets older!

Tyanne & Taylor-Anne

Tyanne & Taylor-Anne

My beautiful sister and niece!

More pictures below:

Celebrate Life!

leavesandbranches.wordpress.com

Entry filed under: Parties. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Greyson’s 2nd Birthday

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


karenperson
photo
I am passionate about many things. I am drawn to all things cute, cupcakes, chandeliers, and shiny things in general. I can be a super girlie-girl, a huge geek, or a little of both depending on my mood. I have a great appreciation for people with creative minds. And what I love most in this world are my husband, my son, my dogs, and writing. If you want to know more just click on the "About Me" tab at the top of the page. kthxbye!

Calendar

April 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jul    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Flickr Photos


